The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit

bbbToday I want to talk about the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit when we are infused with sanctifying grace, the life of God within us. Isaiah 11:1-3 But a shoot shall sprout from his roots a bud shall blossom. The spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him: a spirit of wisdom and of understanding, a spirit of counsel and of strength, a spirit of knowledge and of fear of the Lord, and his delight shall be of the fear of the Lord, not by appearance shall he judge, nor by hearsay shall he decide.

1. Wisdom. A gift that God grants to all who ask in faith and it sustains believers in Christ in times of tribulation. It is knowledge that is not accessible to the nonbeliever or those who doubt. It is through this that a Christian can face adversity with great calmness and hope.

2.Understanding. This perfects our speculative reason and apprehension of the truth. Often, people read the Bible and don’t understand what they have read. When you have the spirit of God inside you, it will be easier to understand the Bible.

Proverbs 2:2-6 Turning your ear to wisdom, inclining your heart to understanding: Yes, if you call for intelligence, and to understanding raise your voice; If you seek her like silver, and like hidden treasures search her out, then will you understand the fear of the LORD; the knowledge of God you will find; For the LORD gives wisdom, from his mouth comes knowledge and understanding.

3. Counsel. The gift of counsel is also called the gift of right judgment, the perfection of the cardinal virtue of prudence. Prudence can be practiced by anyone, but counsel is supernatural. Through the gift of the Holy Spirit, we are able to judge how best to act. This gift is like intuition.

4. Fortitude. Gives us the strength to follow through on actions suggested by the gift of counsel. Also called courage. Fortitude is the virtue of the martyrs that allows them to suffer death rather than to renounce the Christian faith.

5. Knowledge. In a limited way, it allows us to see our life the way God sees it. Through this gift, we can determine God’s purpose for our lives and live them accordingly.

6. Piety. The willingness to worship and serve God, gives us the desire to worship God and to serve him out of love.

7. Fear of the LORD. Fear of the LORD gives us the desire to not offend God, and the certainty that God will supply us with grace. The fear of God comes from love.

(sources: Fr.Larry Richards, (2009)Be a Man    and   Scott P. Richert and pinterest)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s